Engineering Project Organization Society

Engineering Project Organization Society

Engineering Project Organization SocietyEngineering Project Organization SocietyEngineering Project Organization Society

About EPOS

EPOS was established in 2010 to fill a gap in the organization research community. EPOS is a society of interdisciplinary researchers and professionals focused on the support and enhancement of scholarship, research, and exchange in the field of organization studies as applied to the engineering domain. The scope of interest extends vertically from the individual project level to the program level and to the organizational level. The scope extends horizontally through all stages of governance from initial project development to project delivery and through all areas of organization management from leadership to strategic issues.

The Vision

Be the premiere global society for project organization researchers

The Objectives

  • Formalize the EPOS community to foster collaboration and general sharing of knowledge within the topic area.
  • Promote organization studies as a research sector within the engineering-construction domain.
  • Develop a global network of individuals from engineering, business, social science, and management who will support, promote, and grow the community.
  • Establish a permanent structure to oversee annual regional meetings and an international conference on a regular cycle.
  • Establish a journal that will reflect the focus of the community and become the preeminent outlet for organization-based research in engineering.
  • Establish an annual award, the Pathfinder Award, to recognize leading work in the EPOS domain.

The Structure

EPOS is lead by a group of volunteers who rotate in positions every two years. The group of officers jointly oversee EPOS as an Executive Committee. The current Executive Committee is comprised of the following individuals:

  • Paul Chinowsky, University of Colorado, Chair
  • Michael Garvin, Virginia Tech
  • Carrie Sturts Dossick, University of Washington
  • Geert Dewulf, Twente University
  • Ashwin Mahalingam, IIT Madras
  • John Taylor, Georgia Tech
  • Raymond Levitt, Stanford University